Afraid of Getting Old

I don’t know why, but getting old scares me. And I’m not talking about exiting my teen years, but entering my senior years. In my experience life just gets very dull after a certain point, and I don’t think I could stand living like that. You know, sitting around the house, shopping at dollar general, clipping coupons, and reading the paper; that’s just not me. I would never want to lead a life so boring. I need to have action or I get restless, as I’m sure many do. I have to be out and about, running around, at least 3 times a week.

Sure, seniority has its advantages. You don’t have to worry about school anymore, and you have all the free time in the world, if you’re financially settled of course. But after a while one would have to imagine that you just run out of things to do. I’m the kind of person that’s always trying something new. I know they say with age comes wisdom, but I don’t want to LEARN something new, I want to DO something new.

And don’t even get me started on the physical disabilities that come with old age. Assuming one becomes an average elder, you’re forced to live with a number of problems that can range from back problems to weakened joints, essentially immobilizing you. And what happens if you’re in a relationship. You don’t have the energy to keep a passionate life going, and you slowly begin to break apart.

Finally, you have to worry about death. At this point in time I can’t imagine what that’d be like. I lost a sister a few years ago, but that’s nothing compared to the pain I would feel if I lost someone close to me. All in all, I feel like I’ve been rambling throughout this whole post, but it’s just something I needed to talk about. I don’t want to grow old. I want to stay young forever. I want to be able to skateboard, play football, go to concerts, and do all of those things without feeling withered. I wonder how many people have these same feelings.

6 Comments

Filed under Family, Miscellany

6 responses to “Afraid of Getting Old

  1. Lasha

    The perfect thing to do in your senior years is to stay in shape. This way, you won’t be held back physically from doing whatever you want. I’ve seen older people (both male and female) in better shape than me, and I’m in my teens.

    Excersize, eat healthy, and go DO something new. 🙂

  2. Jay

    This is my first public blog response outside of someone that I know. I felt very strongly about the context matter, so here it goes…..

    Wow, I am not sure I understand this. You are a teen, but yet you have experience as an elderly Senior Citizen? Anyway, I know that you probably meant “in your observation”. As we get older, our chemistry as well as desires change. I will turn 40 soon and I probably do more now than when I was a kid. I think what you have observed in your family are people that are just happy and content living the way they like.

    What you are probably not understanding is the fact that when raising a family, priorities change fast. Your parents sound like they have chosen to raise you properly instead of worrying about going out with friends, going on adventures and leaving you with family or whomever because you were not of interest. (I know this because you are very curious and seeking answers or opinions on something that is unknown.) I know this is not the “senior” lifestyle in which you are referring, but it is the transitional phase.

    Not everyone is rich. If everyone had a million or two, then the value of a dollar would be very low. So during the high costs of raising a family and providing for children, yes, many shortcuts and sacrifices come into play. This may be where coupons and economy shopping may have been taught and learned. I don’t know any parent or grandparent that would not give all they had for the sake of raising a child.

    Physical ability is a matter of choice, the Choice to stay limber and physically fit. Studies have shown that seniors have the ability of physical gains as well as any young person. One study comes to mind. A nursing home took many volunteers to participate in a physical fitness program consisting mostly of weight training. It turns out that after a few months, people started walking again after being wheelchair bound for many years. Some even started jogging. So yes, it’s a matter of choice. Many do not choose that way of life simply because the value of exercise and fitness was never taught and learned as it is today.

    Worry about death? The only person that would worry about death is someone that never lived life. If you met your goals and thrived at what you loved to do, death is not a factor. As far as the activities you list that you would still like to do, wait until you get a bit older, you will find that even if you could still do them, (such as myself) you probably would have no desire nor find it very important anymore. You will do the things that give you pleasure at the time. What would that consist of is only for you to know as you live your adventure of life.

    My advise, don’t worry about the future unless you enjoy being afraid of the unknown. The future is the adventure that you say you want to seek. Worrying about it, is not embracing it. Don’t dwell on the past, you will end up being depressed and held back in life by guilt. Grow old; make your mark no matter how great or small. Do what makes you happy in the moment and you will always be happy. Live your life, not everyone else’s……

  3. Chad

    I found this through google. I too have always had issues with my fear of growing old. i use to have anxiety attacks at 9 years old worrying about becomming a teenager. I still have a panic attack and anxiety that lasts for a few days from my unnatural fear of getting older. I’m currently in one and I’m 27 soon to be 28.

    Turning 20 was a nightmare for me. To no longer bee a “teen” in a society that caters to teens was terrible. I felt like I was getting old to fast.

    But, I’ll tell you what i’ve learned over the years. My parents age has a lot to do with it. My dad was 45 when I was born. My mother is almost 60 this year and my father is in his 70’s. My wifes grand parents are the same age as my dad. Having older parents has certainly had a huge part in it. I got maried at 18 and had my first son at 20. So, at 27 and having a 7 year old, that makes me feel old too. most people are a decade older when their kids are that age, as was my mother. I think I look at my son, remembering me at his age, then remember my mother. I feel as old as she was.

    I wonder often if people feel liek they’ve led a long enjoyable like towards the end. I can tell you, at 27 i feel liek its been a long life already, and very much enjoyable. time actually slowed a bit for me over the last few years.

    At any rate friend, its something that at least one other person struggles with. i hope you find comfort in something. Good luck friend, my this life be a good one for you.

  4. I m finding this message jus know. I am 27 now and goin 2 be 28 in lik 8 months. Still not married. I sure have d fear of gettin older. I jus don know why. But JAY is rite . u got to live the for the moment. I don know how old u r now. but as u get old u feel dat fear comin 2 u . but if u really did every thin u think should be done . I bet u wont regret anythin. Do every thin u want and dat 2 not alone. mak lots of frnds. do everythin imaginable, dangerous and thrillin.
    When u start gettin really old and look bck at d life u lived u ll feel really satisfied . but aprt from all d adventures and thrills u shoul neve forget the real bein of a human. Its his duty which is been from d beginin of time ,his family .Look after dem and care for dem.
    The way u lived ur LIFE reflects when u fall sick , the number of people who care bout u and really wish for ur wellness, is the real treasure u ve gained ur self.

  5. We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with helpful info to work on. You’ve done an impressive task and our whole group will be grateful to you.

  6. Terry

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s
    new to me. Regardless, I’m definitely delighted I discovered
    it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

