DON’T PINCH ME!

Yeah, I did it, I used all caps for a post title. I know, shame on me, but I had to get my point across. Before I go into a rant, let me say Happy Saint Patrick’s Day, and I apologize to any Irish-folk I may enrage in writing this.

For those of you who’ve had the pleasure of meeting me in real life (I know, my ego is huge, isn’t it?) you know that I’m 100% Portugeuse, and proud of it. While my people are known for being greedy and always looking for money, I’m very thankful we’re not known for being drunkards and “leprechaun people”. Yes, I’ve actually heard people make fun of the Irish as if they’re all Leprechauns (where’s me pot ‘o gold?).

This being said, Saint Patrick’s Day is a predominantly Irish and Roman Catholic holiday, not meant for the masses, unless you enjoy drinking and what not. I myself am Catholic by birth, though I don’t celebrate any specific religion, and I don’t believe this holiday applies to me, so STOP PINCHING ME! As most of you know, there’s a general tradition on St. Patty’s Day. The tradition is rather simple, wear green or get pinched.

But as mentioned, this is an Irish holiday, not a worldwide holiday. We don’t get school off for it, there’s no worldwide fireworks show, and there’s no countdown to some ball dropping (though there may be, at certain bars, a countdown to the tossing of a dwarf or two); I don’t see this as an official holiday. And furthermore, as a person of another culture, why should these Irish practices be forced on me for one day a year? Stick to pinching your own Irish pals. I don’t want to seem racist or prejudiced in any way, because I’m not, but keep your own holidays to your own culture. You don’t see latina’s pinching you on Cinco De Mayo, do you?

I didn’t think so. Now that I’m done ranting, please don’t pinch me any more. From now on I’m establishing a general rule: you pinch me, I punch you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Friends, Miscellany

Leave a Reply

