16

Another year, another birthday. That’s right, my birthday is only a few weeks away, but this is no ordinary birthday, no, it’s my 16th birthday. The birthday all teens look forward to. It represents another step towards adulthood; driving, serious relationships, and so on and so forth, but not for me.

No, to me my 16th birthday is merely the mark of another year I’ve been able to survive in this world. There will continue to be no driving for me, no serious relationships (not that I haven’t done my share of casual dating), and nothing that makes me seem any more adult than I already am. I won’t be spending this great day with my friends, I won’t be having a massive party, and I won’t be featured on MTV with all the other brats of the world.

Nope, it’s just another day in just another week, as part of just another month in the year in the life of just another angst-filled teenager. Oh, dear life, how I enjoy thee. And to top things off I just learned that I wont be home spending the day with friends. Oh no, that would be too much fun for me. Instead I’ll be in Massachusetts visiting a grandfather who I’ve met maybe four or five times in my life. I’ll be spending time with my family I despise, cousins I don’t enjoy being around, and aunts and uncles who, quite frankly, scare me half to death. Maybe I can find a nice skatepark to keep me busy. One can only hope…

1 Comment

Filed under dating, Family, Friends, teen, teenager

One response to “16

  1. hm… sounds like a “character building experience” in the making. Take notes. If you can’t have a good time, at least collect amunition for a future novel or tell-all book. The disappearance of JD Salinger has opened up a market for this kind of thing, I think.

    This is a beautiful web site, btw. I’m going to come back here.

Leave a Reply

