MeeboMe and Cutting Back on Software (An Open Challenge)

Goodbye Trillian, hello Meebo. Other than losing the ability to chat via IRC I couldn’t care less about parting with Trillian. It does nothing but slow down my laptop, and even though it is a great program I really don’t need it. Meebo is all I need from now on.

Over the past few weeks I’ve made a serious effort to cut down on the number of resources I rely on. I’ve uninstalled Thunderbird, Firefox, Trillian, and a massive load of other programs that add to the frustration of online activity. I’ve imported all of my bookmarks and compatible plugins from Firefox to Flock, which now manages my bookmarks and my feeds, which I have reduced from about two hundred to maybe twenty essentials.

Thanks to the invention of multiple homepages I can now check my email via my Google Customized Homepage, sign into MySpace for communicating with my friends who are too ignorant to use email, take a quick glance at all my feeds, check up on Random Shapes, AND log in to my Meebo account, which allows all of you wonderful readers to talk to me at any time.

Anyway, the main reason I wanted to write this post is to let you all know that I’ve added the nifty MeeboMe widget to the sidebar of my blog so you can check my online status and get in contact with me whenever you want. Now to issue a challenge. I challenge each and every one of you reading this to cut down on the number of programs you use. Use plugins to combine apps, delete unnecessary files and programs, see exactly what you need and what you don’t.

To be honest the only programs I really use now are Flock (for email, RSS, IM, and general web browsing), iTunes (for musical pleasure), Photoshop (for designing cool shit), and my anti-virus and anti-spyware programs which do a great job and run virtually invisible. Like I said, cut back and see just what you need. Leave me a comment letting me know how it goes and what you now use.

2 Comments

Filed under blog, Design, Flock, Meebo, Miscellany, Mozilla, Technology, web 2.0, web apps

2 responses to “MeeboMe and Cutting Back on Software (An Open Challenge)

  1. You should try koolim.com for a web based instant messaging.

  2. Melinda, thanks for the info. I just tried Koolim.com and I personally don’t like it. While it has more account options the pop-up based interface is slow and visually disturbing. It reminds me too much of AIM Express. I like how Meebo is an inline IM Client that doesn’t need any pop-ups to run

Leave a Reply

