Getting Back in the Game

I may have been in denial, but I definitely realize now that I’ve been out of the game for a while now. By the game I’m referring, of course, to the world of web design and internet culture. I’ve missed out on CSS breakthroughs, new software, possible design jobs, blogging, and a lot more, and quite frankly I have no idea what’s going on anymore. People are talking about things that seem to fly over my head like a plane and I don’t like it.

It seems like every time I get on a good roll I lose access to a solid internet connection, or I get grounded, or I lose inspiration. Some massive event prevents me from doing what I like to do. In essence, being available. I love being able to talk to who I want, when I want. I love being able to make contacts all over the world and actually not be limited by the boundaries of the city I live in.

It’s been a while, but I think I’m definitely ready to get back into the game. I’m reorganizing my life, making more contacts then ever, and I’m actually getting some serious blogging done. I’m sure I’m not the only person who’s this has ever gone through this, so for all of you having the same troubles there’s a few things you can do to get back to where you were months online when you left.

You can start by reading all of your RSS Items and unread emails. After that visit all of the sites you hold a membership with and read all of your messages, comments, etc. After that’s taken care of let everyone know you’re okay. Write a nice blog post, or send out an email to all of your friends. Now that personal matters are taken care of start tackling your business functions. Check your online banking, look into old job offers and just reacquaint yourself with the business world.

That tiny plan seems to work for me every single time I go into meltdown mode, and if you stick to the same basic guidelines it’ll work for you too. I have no idea why I wrote this post, or even how I ended up thinking about this subject, but hey, it is a post and I am here to blog, so there you go.

2 Comments

Filed under blog, Design, Media, Miscellany

2 responses to “Getting Back in the Game

  1. bird-E

    After burning out and losing motive to continue all things web related, ive been out of ‘the game’ for a fair while too. Hope you get back on your feet, as id like to do. Its time to re-establish our notoriety 😉

Leave a Reply

